The University of Tennessee, Knoxville

College of Business Adminstration at the University of Tennessee Dreamweaver Templates. College of Business Administration at the University of Tennessee

Old News


The Koxville Economics Forum hosted guest speaker Mark A. Emkes, the commissioner of finance and administrantion for the State of Tennessee. more

William S. Neilson began serving as head of the Department of Economics effective January 1, 2013 succeeding Robert A. Bohm who retires at the end of the year.


Alumni honor Dr. Bob Bohm when Dr. Robert (Bob) A. Bohm retired at the end of the year, he left behind a legacy that impacted thousands of economics students from all over the world. more

Jilleah Welch�recipient of the�Tami Gurley-Calvez�Award for the Best Third-Year Paper��HOPE for Community College Students: The Impact of Aid on Persistence, Graduation, and Earnings�

Don Bruce Appointed New SEC and NCAA Faculty Athletics Representative

The�Economist�looks at an analysis by�UT economics professor�Georg Schaur�and David Hummels of Purdue University.

Ken Baker awarded Richard C. Reizenstein Outstanding Commitment to Students.

Laura Ullrich�(UTK Ph.D. in Economics 2008) has been granted tenure and promotion to Associate Professor at Winthrop University.

UT Economist Matt Murray Tapped to Lead Baker�Center

Professor Matt Murray, associate director of the Center for Business and Economic Research at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville, has been appointed director of the Howard H. Baker Jr. Center for Public Policy. He will begin immediately. [more]

William Neilson, Holly Chair of Excellence, was appointed as a Guest Professor at Huazhong University of Science and Technology

Don Clark�is currently serving as Executive Vice-President of the International Trade and Finance Association (ITFA).� He is organizing�ITFA's 22nd international conference to be held in Pisa, Italy, over the May 23-26 period.

Jane Gravelle, Specialist in Economic Policy at the Congressional Research Service (CRS) was the guest speaker at the�Knoxville Economics Forum held on April 20, 2012.

Laura Ullrich�(UTK Ph.D. in Economics 2008) has been granted tenure and promotion to Associate Professor at Winthrop University.

UT Economist Matt Murray Tapped to Lead Baker�Center


College of Business Student Spotlight: Margaret Ross

Economics Undergraduates Publish in�Pursuit

In September,�Larry Bray, research professor in the Department of Economics, appeared before the United States Congress as an acknowledged expert on US Inland Waterways. Bray spoke to the US House of Representatives’ Transportation and Infrastructure Committee Subcommittee on Water Resources and Environment. His comments specifically dealt with the importance of commercial inland navigation to the US economy.

U.S. Sen. Bob Corker was the guest speaker at the�Knoxville Economics Forum�held at Club LeConte in downtown Knoxville Monday August 8 , 2011. Senator Corker spoke about the economy and the economic issues facing the United States.�Photos

Gregg Rader, Junior in Economics at UT, wins National Economics Contest.

Melanie Cozad, Ph.D. student in Economics, has been awarded a $10,000 State Farm Companies Foundation Doctoral Dissertation Award�for 2011-2012.�

Department of Economics honors MA and PhD Spring 2011 graduates.

Department of Economics honors top Economics and Public Administration majors graduating Srping 2011 and recognizes scholarship recipients for the academic year 2011-2012.

Dr. Bill Fox�has been appointed a�Chancellor's Professor, the highest lifetime honor that can be accorded to a member of the faculty of the University of Tennessee, Knoxville.�

Dennis Lockhart, president and CEO of the Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta and a member of the Federal Open Market Committee, was the guest speaker at Friday's�Knoxville Economics Forum.
Listen to Mr. Lockhart's Speech.

Christian Vossler, awarded William L. Vallett, Jr. Outstanding Researcher

Marianne Wanamaker, awarded Allen H. Keally Outstanding Teacher

Melanie Cozad, a third-year student in the UTK Economics Ph.D. program, has been selected to attend the 4th Lindau�Meetings of Nobel Laureates in Economics.

Department of Economics ~ 507 Stokely Management Center ~ 916 Volunteer Boulevard ~ Knoxville, TN ~ 37996-0550
Phone: 865-974-3303 ~ Fax: 865-974-4601 ~ Email:

College of Business Administration's Facebook Page.   College of Business Administration on LinkedIn.


Contribute to a big idea. Give to UT.

The University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Big Orange. Big Ideas.

Knoxville, Tennessee 37996 | 865-974-1000
The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System